Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

POLO World Cup - Australia 2017 The Argentine Polo Team will face the United States in the opening day

On Saturday, October 21, the Argentine Polo Team led by Diego Braun will face his US counterpart in the opening match of the 14th FIP World Cup with 14 goals to be played at the Sidney Polo Club in the Australian capital


The Argentine team will consist of 4 of the players who defeated Brazil, Peru and Uruguay in the South American qualifiers in Punta del Este, Uruguay, in January of this year: Héctor Guerrero (5 handicap goals), Valentín Novillo Astrada (5 ), Tomás Panelo (3) and Lucio Fernández Ocampo (2); who were joined by Ivan Maldonado (4), Ignacio Bello (2) and Federico Panzillo (2), who replaced Javier Cabrera Castilla and Juan Nagore, who had participated in the tie.


Argentina, the maximum winner of the tournament with 4 awards, will seek its fifth world title.



The XI World Championship of 14 goals that organizes the International Federation of Polo (FIP) will be disputed between Saturday 21 and Sunday 29/10.

Argentina will join Group A alongside the United States (rival at the opening match), Spain and local Australia; while in the B will be Chile (defending champion), England, India and New Zealand.


The complete fixture is as follows:


Saturday 21/10 - Group A

Argentina vs. United States (Match 1) and Australia Vs. Spain (P.2)


Sunday 22/10 - Group B

England vs. India (P.3) and Chile Vs. New Zealand (P.4).


Tuesday 24/10 - Group A

Winner Match 1 vs. Loser Match 2 and Match Winner 2 vs. Loser Match 1


Wednesday 25/10 - Group A

Winner Match 3 vs. Loser Match 4 and Match 4 Winner vs. Loser Match 3


Saturday 28/10 - Groups A and B

Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2 and Loser Match 2 vs. Loser Match 1

Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4 and Loser Match 4 vs. Loser Match 3


Sunday 29/10

Match for Third Place: Second Group A vs. Second Group B

Final of the Contest: First Group A vs. First Group B